ARCTICA. Symphony No. 2 for piano, mixed choir and orchestra

TEXT: Lera Auerbach (Inuit)


  1. Solarstein – Searching for North
    Angakok’s First Flight: Beyond Dreaming
  2. Magic Incantation: Spirits of Light
    Angakok’s Second Flight
  3. Magic Incantation: The Spirit of the Wind
    Angakok’s Third Flight
  4. Dance of the Men-Bears
    Angakok’s Fourth Flight
  5. Dance-Duel of the Women-Foxes
    Angakok’s Fifth Flight: Lament for Mistaking Wife for a Fox
  6. Magic Incantation: The Spirit of the Moon
    Angakok’s Sixth Flight: The World of the Dead
  7. Magic Incantation: The Great Sedna (The Spirit of the Sea)
  8. Arctica – The Crystal Mirror

Commissioned by National Geographic Society / Pristine Seas, National Symphony Orchestra, Washington DC, The Oslo Philharmonic

* Additional orchestras are in the process of joining the commissioning consortium. These include Orchestras TBD (Russia), Helsinki Philharmonic Orchestra (Finland), Gothenburg Symphony (Sweden), and Icelandic Symphony Orchestra (Iceland), TBD (Canada), TBD (Denmark).

YEAR: 2019


INSTRUMENTATION: 3(picc, alto flute).3(cor anglais).3(bass clar).3(db bn) – – timp, 6 perc (crot, flex, whistle, temple bl, side dr, bass dr, tam-t, tubular bells, glsp, vibr, marimba, theremin, water-drops, ice-drums, waterphone, water gong, crystal glasses). 2 harps. cel. strings – mix. choir, pno solo

PUBLISHER: Internationale Musikverlage Hans Sikorski GmbH & Co. KG

30.03.2019 / Washington / USA / Kennedy Center / Lera Auerbach (Klavier) / National Symphony Orchestra of Washington / The Washington Chorus / Teddy Abrams (Conductor)